*NEW BOOK* LAST ONE ALIVE - OUT NOW!

Secret Remains

It’s been 12 years since Sandi Parkman went missing after being dropped off at home by her schoolmate, Nick Larson, now the Sheriff of Freeport, Michigan. When a construction crew unearths Sandi’s bones–along with Nick’s letterman jacket and one of his hairs, Nick becomes suspect number one in the murder.

Get it Now

SECRET REMAINS Description:

A cold case murder, a grisly discovery, and a viper’s nest of resentment, betrayal, and dirty secrets converge in this mystery perfect for fans of Kathy Reichs and Jayne Ann Krentz.


It’s been 12 years since Sandi Parkman went missing after being dropped off at home by her schoolmate, Nick Larson, now the Sheriff of Freeport, Michigan. When a construction crew unearths Sandi’s bones–along with Nick’s letterman jacket and one of his hairs–Nick becomes suspect number one in the murder.


Dr. Emily Hartford, the daughter of Freeport’s medical examiner, is called in to investigate, but the case is about to get personal. Nick was Emily’s high school love, and now she has to either clear his name–or contend that he’s the killer. As she delves into the case, a host of other suspects emerge: a coterie of Nick’s jock friends from high school; Sandi’s sister, Tiffany, now a dancer at a local strip club; and James VanDerMuellen, a trust funder who’s recently returned to Freeport.


As the autumn skies darken over Freeport and the holiday season looms, Emily must sift through more than Sandi’s brittle bones to solve the case. Can she exonerate Nick–and rekindle their long-smoldering romance? The race is on to find the truth.

 

Book 2 of 5

A Coroner's Daughter Mystery

Print length

336 pages

Language

English
Spanish

Audio

Avaiable

Published Date

January 7, 2020

The Prologue to Secret Remains:

Chapter 5:

Reviews:

Secret Remains is really at the level of the best authors. I have been drawn in reading… it is only the second of the series and the author has already reached the top. She may just be the next Mary Higgins Clark. I’m a big fan!

Eric M, France

Jennifer has given us a fast-paced, propulsive read filled with smart characters and all the forensic science we’ve come to love from her.

– Lynn Renee Maxcy
Writer
The Handmaid’s Tale (Hulu) and THE COMPLEX. 

Jennifer Dornbush has created a masterful blend of suspense, tension, and romance in Secret Remains. Drawing from a deep well of personal experience and professional expertise, Dornbush has artfully woven a great page-turner. Smartly written, artfully crafted—put this one at the top of your reading list!

-Catherine Finger
Award-winning author

Secret Remains” was super! I couldn’t put it down, kept drawing me back. Keep up the good work! I love the story line, the characters and want it to keep going.

-Susan H
Avid mystery reader

This book is an absolute page turner. The story is riveting, and it’s well written, tapping this author’s obvious knowledge about forensics. A great addition to the series and I can’t wait to read the next one!

-Karen Stefano
Attorney/Crime Writer

Other Books In the Series

The Coroner’s Daughter Mystery Series

Dr. Emily Hartford has lived with death since the day she was born. It’s hard not to when your father is the medical examiner and his office is your family home. Emily is now a tenacious, curious big city surgeon. Strong and competent. Vulnerable and kind. Sometimes too insular and self-dependent. It’s hard to peel back her layers– especially when it comes to family. 

 

But as Emily continues to get reeled back into the investigative life she left behind when she became estranged with her father, she begins to see how she’s broken and what’s missing in her life… and discovers that home is where the bodies are.

The Coroner

The Coroner’s Daughter Mystery Series
(Book 1)

Last One Alive

The Coroner’s Daughter Mystery Series
(Book 3)

The Coroner’s Daughter Mystery Series
(Book 4)

COMING 2024

The Coroner’s Daughter Mystery Series
(Book 5)

COMING 2025

Join the Newsletter